The Chakras in simple terms

Chakras in simple terms

The Chakras in simple terms

Chakra can be translated as energy centers in our body. There are seven major chakras in our body, each of them is an expressing energy. The kind of energy depends on the focus of each chakra, and it can be expressed physically, emotionally, energetically.

Each chakra is associated with nerve plexus and endocrine glands. A nerve plexus is a branching network of intersecting nerves. Endocrine glands are glands of the endocrine system that secrete their products, hormones, directly into the blood.

Lower chakras

The chakras that are closer to the ground, chakra 1, chakra 2 and chakra 3, are associated to practical matters such as survival, sexuality and power.

Higher chakras

namely chakra 5, chakra 6, and chakra 7 are reflected in symbolic, mental, spirituality

The one that connect both is heart chakra. If it functions well, there is door to communication between lower chakra and higher chakras.

Each of the chakras are related to the major area of human psychological health which can be briefly summarized as follows: (1) Survival, (2) sexuality, (3) power, (4) love, (5) communication, (6) intuition and (7) consciousness.

When each chakra functions in a well and balanced way, in Tantra tradition, there is a belief that the Kundalini energy which is coiled at the bottom of the spine will be released and travel along the body and bring the person into enlightenment.

Each chakra represents a psychological pattern that evolves in an individual’s life. Most of us react to unpleasant experiences by blocking our feeling and that stops a great deal of our natural free flow of energy.

The chakras serve to vitalize the body, they are related to the pathology in the body. They absorb the universal or primary energy, break it up into component parts and then send it along energy channels, also known as nadis. In anatomy we can say this is the nervous system and the endocrine glands that each chakra is related to. Further, the first three chakras are associated more with physical, mental and emotional interaction on the earth. When heart chakra functions well, the person is compassionate and lives from the heart.

This article is just a short explanation of what chakras are and their functioning. Understanding chakras and how this energy anatomy functions in our life and manifests into health or illness in our body will improve our self understanding.

Shades of Yoga is a yoga teacher training company providing year round yoga teacher training in the following locations

Yoga Teacher Training Bali
Yoga Teacher Training South Africa
Yoga Teacher Training Mallorca. Spain
Yoga Teacher Training Spain, Grazalema




Get more tips and updates from our Yoga Journal

We will not share or sell your personal information