Tips on Preparing Amazing Yoga Sequences 1

It’s all about intention. The intention is the key when preparing our sequences. The intention defines the action. Even a simple and clear word “yes” can have so many different meanings depending on the intention. Similarly there are so many ways of putting one Asana after the other, and our prime guide on doing this […]

The Chakras in simple terms

Chakras in simple terms

The Chakras in simple terms Chakra can be translated as energy centers in our body. There are seven major chakras in our body, each of them is an expressing energy. The kind of energy depends on the focus of each chakra, and it can be expressed physically, emotionally, energetically. Each chakra is associated with nerve […]

Cultivating Heart Chakra in Daily Life

Heart Chakra

What’s going on in this Heart Chakra? Out of all of the chakras , this one is probably the most discussed chakra. The heart, which is the location of Heart Chakra (also known as Anahata Chakra) is one of the more vulnerable spots in the body. Even without understanding of the chakra system, we often mention […]

The Symbolism of Wheel Pose (Chakrasana or Urdhva Danurasana)

The Symbolism of Wheel Pose

The Symbolism of Wheel Pose Wheel Pose, which goes by the names Chakrasana and Urdhva Danurasana, can look like the arc of a rainbow. It represents the rainbow bridge of the chakras, psycho-energetic fields that can be thought of as vortexes of subtle energy that ascend along the length of the spine. Were our hands and feet […]

Chakras Introduction Part 2


Chakras are energy wheels or vortexes. These energetic chakras are alive with life force or prana. In our last blog we looked at how each chakra is associated physically with a nerve plexus and endocrine gland, however, we also need to consider the energetic aspect of chakras.

CHAKRAS: Introduction Part 1

Shades of Yoga Chakra Awakening Retreat

Our following blog series will focus on chakras. These subtle energy wheels or vortexes are what animate our being. The chakras correspond to physical areas in our bodies.  The chakras also line up with endocrine glands and nerve plexuses.

The Endocrine System and Yoga

Shades of Yoga Power Yoga Immersion Retreat

Seven major chakras sit along the length of the spine. Chakras (vortexes of subtle energy) receive energy from our environment, assimilate this energy and distribute it throughout the body. In yoga we tap into these energy systems through asana, pranayama and meditation.   Each chakra is thought to correspond with a particular nerve plexus and endocrine gland […]